In accordance with the amendments to the Articles of Association on 20th May 2010, the Board changed the collective name of it’s Trustees from ‘Council of Management’ to ‘Council’.

Under the Articles ‘Council’ can have a maximum of 20 and a minimum of 8 members, however, wherever possible equal numbers of persons will be drawn from the following backgrounds:
  • ship owners’ & ship manager
  • trade union
  • voluntary sector
  • persons able to make a particular contribution due to their specialist expertise.
Council members are elected for a 3 year term of office.


Mr R Jones

Bob has been chairman of the Merchant Navy Welfare Board since May 2010 and has over 40 years commercial and sea-going experience in the Shipping Industry.
His Merchant Navy career commenced in 1965 as a deck cadet with Blue Funnel Line and following various sea-going appointments, he came ashore with Mobil Shipping Company where he held a number of senior personnel-management positions – both in London and a three year assignment in the Far East.
He was responsible for the recruitment, training and efficient manpower planning programme for sea-going officers and ratings in Mobil’s International tanker fleet, comprising British, Taiwanese, Burmese and Filipino personnel.
His involvement with the Merchant Navy Welfare Board commenced in 1976 when he was a ship-owner representative on the London Port Welfare Committee (PWC) and more recently, he was Chairman of the Southern PWC in Southampton for a number of years.
He became director and general manager of Sealife Crewing Services – a company he ran for 16 years before taking early retirement in 2006.  He is a trustee of a number of charities and passionate about seafarer’s welfare.

Mr M Dickinson

Mark has been Vice-Chairman of the Merchant Navy Welfare Board since May 2010 and has over 30 years’ experience within the shipping industry.
Achieving the rank of 2nd Navigating Officer with The Bank Line, Mark came ashore to join the International Transport Worker’s Federation (ITF) in 1988, as a full time trade union official.  Mark worked his way up the ranks and quickly rose to Assistant General Secretary of the ITF in 1992 and was a key figure in the work of the ITF Seafarers' Trust during his time with the ITF.
In 2000, he joined Nautilus International (formerly NUMAST/ Nautilus UK) and in May 2009 was elected General Secretary of the union.  In his capacity as General Secretary, he has continued the development of Nautilus as an international union for maritime professionals determined to progress its members interests nationally, in Europe and globally. Mark is particularly passionate about the involvement of young seafarers and encouraging women into the shipping industry and has overseen the development of union structures to facilitate this.
He was a major contributor in the development of the Maritime Labour Convention (MLC) 2006, and has an on-going role in the development of UK legislation for eventual ratification of the MLC via membership of the UK Tripartite Working Group (TWG) under the auspices of the Maritime & Coastguard Agency (MCA).  The ratification of the Maritime Labour Convention 2006, will give further impetus to the Board, particularly it’s Port Welfare Committees.
Council Members:

Ship Owners’ & Ship Managers Representatives:

Capt A Cassels, BP Shipping
Mr D Colclough, Princess Cruises
Mr R Jones, UK Chamber of Shipping (Chairman)
Mr T Springett, UK Chamber of Shipping

Trade Union Representatives:

Mr A M Dickinson, Nautilus International (Vice Chairman)
Mr S Gosling, Nautilus International
Mr S Todd, RMT
Mr M Carden, RMT

Voluntary Sector Representatives:

Mr A Campbell, Queen Victoria Seamen's Rest
Mr M Foley, Apostleship of the Sea
Ms D Thomas, Sailors' Children's Society
Cdre M Williams CBE RN, Shipwrecked Mariners' Society

Persons Able to Make a Particular Contribution due to their Specialist Expertise:

Cdre B Bryant CVO RN, Seafarers UK
Ms A Godfrey, The Fishermen's Mission
Mr G Lane, Accountant


Mr N Atkinson, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
Capt J Drewitt, Port Welfare Committee Chairman's Representative
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Complaints Policy© Copyright 2018 Merchant Navy Welfare Board | Web Design By Toolkit Websites